Blog is the new black

The first time I had heard of blogging was while reading the young adult novel The Gospel According to Larry, by Janet Tashjian. If you haven’t read it and you want to teach your students (probably best for middle or high schol) about blogs, this book is a great way to warm them up to blogging.

As for being a blogger myself, I have to admit I am much better at following blogs that I am at blogging. After a class on blog tips and tutorials, I believe I have turned a new leaf. Blogging is surprisingly easy to do and the possibilities are endless.

Here are a couple examples of a few art educators blog that I absolutely love…..smART Class, Art With Mr.E, and Color, Collage, and Much Much More. These teachers have found ways to use blogging as a resource to share lessons and student work all while creating a network of art educators.

I want to create a classroom blog so that I can show off a few of the new tools I have learned. Did you know blogs also had widgets? I do now! What about that you could completely customize your profile? One of my favorite new terms is gravatar, which stands for globally recognized avatar. It is basically your profile picture, but for your blog. Also on your blog you can include profile information about yourself so that people know who you are and what your blog is about.

I think blogging can be used as a great professional tool for educators as well as an excellent tool for students. Imagine having your students start a blog in an art class to write reactions to artwork and post pictures of their work with descriptions of the process. I think the students would enjoy the process of personalizing their blogs in additional to having a working portfolio.

Leave a Reply

